Plečnik, as the Slovenian architect number 1 was Otto Wagner’s student in Vienna. He presented his talent very soon with planning the Zacherl palace. This is not the only Plečnik’s work in Vienna, he also helped developing different Vienna houses, and is also known for the Karl Boromejski fountain and the church of the Holy ghost at Ottakring.
Architect Jože Plečnik left Vienna and returned into Ljubljana, where he worked from 1925 on. Most of his work was finished before the end of the II. World war. His only after-war work is the Križanke, build between 1952 and 1956.
In the time between both World wars, the Czech president Masaryk asked Plečnik to rebuild the Hradčani castle and the presidential residence at the Lana castle. Plečnik took the job and it was performed between 1920 and 1934. Plečnik also build the church of the Sacred Heart at Vinohradi.
Plečnik became a professor of architecture at the University of Ljubljana and began its works in Ljubljana. His first works are the church of St. Francis in a part of Ljubljana called Šiška, the building, that was occupied by the Vzajemna insurance company and now hosts the Triglav insurance company and the football stadium in Ljubljana.
National University library and three bridges
Plečnik’s best works, the National University library, the three bridges, the market place with the Ljubljanica river banks and the Tivoli park were planned at the end, and some of them were never finished. One of the not finished is the new Slovenian parliament, that you can see on the Slovenian Euro coin, and people still hope that it gets finished. The original plans are still available and Plečnik, with his finished and unfinished works is still alive in Slovenia.
Posts from the same category:
- None Found